User menu

Introduction to Open Access


Open access: some news!

 

 

 

  1. Researchers from UCLouvain who are, at least partially, financed by public funding (FNRS, grant students, included), have to put their research articles in Open Access on an institutional repository (Dial in UCLouvain). (Decret de la communauté française du 3 mai 2018).

  2. This concerns scientific articles published in a periodic journal publishing at least once a year. Other type of publications (monography, conference communications, thesis,…), can also be deposited inOpen Access, but it is encouraged, not mandatory.

  3. An embargo period is, however, still possible: and it covers up to 12 months of embargo for the social sciences, and up to 6 month for other sciences.

  4. The post-print of your research article has to be put on Dial (after peer-review, but before publisher’s layout).

  5. Attention: any promotion, nomination, or Federation Wallonie-Bruxelles research funding will depend on the list of your scientific publications that respect this decree, as exported from Dial.

  6. Moreover, this decree is reinforced by a recent modification of the Federal Belgian Law on Authors’ rights. Since July 2018, every author of a scientific publication has the right to put in Open Access his publications, with an embargo period of maximum 12 months (social science) or 6 months (other sciences). This legal right of Open Access

  7. This right prevails over any contract between the author and a publisher, even though other restrictions were mentioned in this contract.

Open Access Definition

In 2002, the Budapest Open Access Initiative defines "Open Access" like the action to archive and disseminate scholarly literature around the world freely accessible online. It means that researchers of the world should be able to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search or link the full texts of these references without financial, legal, or tehcnical barriers other than internet access. Of course, copyright for authors have to be respected when content is cited or used by others.


Open Access Models

  • Green OA (Open Access Self-Archiving)

Researchers deposit their works in an institutional or discpline repository (ex. DIAL.pr) and provide freely access to the preprint, postprint or published version (pending the publisher permissions). So it's the self-archiving of (pre)published works by authors in an online archive. 

  • Gold OA (Open Access Publishing)

Researchers publish their works in an Open Access journal to a publisher who will provide the work freely available online. This option proposes some various business model. OA journals haven' got charge subscription or access fees. Author or institution have to pay Article Processing Charges to publish article in journals. The amount of these APC can vary from 0 € to 3000 € for an article. You'll find more information about publication charges of these OA journal in the DOAJ directory.

  • Hybrid Models (Open Access for articles)

In response to the development of Open Access several large commercial publishers have decided to offer an alternative model for the publication of research results. Indeed, they propose to publish OA articles in a subscription's journal according to the traditional model. For commercial publishers, it's an opportunity to develop potentially new business models. For libraries (and universities), this mainly represents additional costs and a way for commercial publishers to bring back Open Access movement.

Here are some examples of APC for OA and hybrid journals

! Open Access means that the information is freely available but OA publishing still often involves a cost to the author or institution to publish the work !


Why make my work in Open Access ?

⇒ Open Access allows a wider opening to search results (Indexing on Google Scholar, and other Academic search engines)

⇒ Open Access promotes interactions, collaborations or research opportunities between researchers of the world

⇒ Open Access allows long term lower costs for subscriptions to professional literature

⇒ Open Access makes your works easier for other researchers to find and so to cite 

⇒ But also, Permanent unbreakable URLs and Safe long-term archiving ( See Safe PLN for DIAL.pr !)


Open Access Explained !                                       →  More videos on  Université Numérique - Open Publication  page !

Menu utilisateur

Introduction à l'Open Access


 

 

Des nouvelles du côté de l’Open Access :

  1. Les chercheurs de l’UCLouvain financés totalement ou partiellement sur fonds publics (en ce y compris sur les boursiers et chercheurs du FNRS) doivent, selon le décret de la communauté française du 3 mai 2018, mettre leurs articles en libre accès sur un dépôt institutionnel, en l’occurrence pour l’UCLouvain : Dial.

  2. Cela concerne les publications dans un périodique paraissant au moins une fois par an. Pour les autres publications (monographie, actes de colloques, thèses, …), la mise en Open Access reste à la discrétion de l’auteur bien qu’elle soit vivement encouragée par l’UCLouvain.

  3. Une période d’embargo reste possible : 12 mois pour les sciences humaines et sociales, 6 mois pour les autres sciences.

  4. La version à déposer sur Dial est le Post-print : c’est-à-dire la version après peer-review, mais avant mise en page de l’éditeur.

  5. Point important : toute promotion, nomination, attribution de crédit de recherche de la FWBne pourra se baser pour l’évaluation des articles de périodique visés par le décret que sur la liste générée par Dial.

     

  6. Ce décret communautaire est renforcé par une intervention récente du législateur belge en juillet 2018 et qui institue un véritable droit à la mise en Open Access des publications scientifiques financées par des fonds publics au bénéfice des auteurs desdites publications. Le texte prévoit également des possibilités de délais d’embargo calqués sur ceux du décret (6 ou 12 mois selon le secteur). Ce droit légal prévaut sur tout contrat qui serait passé avec un éditeur et qui interdirait ou restreindrait au-delà des conditions légales le droit de mise en Open Access.

Définition de l'Open Access

En 2002, la Budapest Open Access Initiative définit le "libre accès" comme l'action d'archiver et de diffuser la littérature scientifique à travers le monde librement accessible en ligne. Cela signifie que les chercheurs du monde entier devraient pouvoir lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou relier les textes complets de ces références sans barrières financières, juridiques ou techniques autres que l'accès à Internet. Bien entendu, les droits d'auteur des auteurs doivent être respectés lorsque le contenu est cité ou utilisé par des tiers..


Modèles de l'Open Access

  • Green OA (Open Access auto-archivage)

Les chercheurs déposent leurs travaux dans un répertoire institutionnel où thématique (ex.DIAL.pr) et fournissent un accès libre) la version pré-print, post-print ou à la version éditeur de leur document (selon les spécificités de l'éditeur, voir http://www.sherpa.ac.uk/romeo/). Il s'agit de l'auto-archivage des travaux (pré)publiés par les auteurs dans une archive en ligne. 

  • Gold OA (Open Access Publication)

Les chercheurs publient leurs travaux dans un Journal en Open Access à un éditeur qui rendra ces travaux disponibles librement/gratuitement en ligne. Le Gold OA implique différents modèles économiques.   Les revues d'OA ont des abonnements payants ou des frais d'accès. L'auteur ou l'institution doivent payer les frais de traitement des articles (APC) pour publier dans les revues. Le montant de ces APC peut varier de 0 € à 3000 € pour un article. Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur les frais de publication de ces revues OA dans le répertoire DOAJ.

  • Modèle hybride 

En réponse au développement de l'Open Access, plusieurs grands éditeurs commerciaux ont décidé d'offrir un modèle alternatif pour la publication des résultats de recherche. En effet, ils proposent de publier des articles en Open Access dans un journal à abonnement selon le modèle traditionnel. Pour les éditeurs commerciaux, c'est l'occasion de développer de nouveaux modèles commerciaux. Pour les bibliothèques (et les universités), cela représente principalement des coûts supplémentaires et un moyen pour les éditeurs commerciaux de récupérer le mouvement du libre accès.

 

! L'Open Access implique que l'information soit librement disponible, mais la publication en OA nécessite encore souvent des frais pour l'auteur ou l'institution pour pouvoir publier les travaux de recherche !


Pourquoi mettre mes travaux en Open Access ?

⇒ L'Open Access permet une plus grande ouverture aux résultats de recherche (Indexation sur Google Scholar, et d'autres moteurs de recherche académiques) 

 

⇒ L'Open Access favorise les interactions, les collaborations et les opportunitées de recherche entre les chercheurs du monde entier

⇒ L'Open Access permet, à long terme, de faire baisser les coûts d'abonnement à la litérature professionnelle

⇒ L'Open Access rend vos travaux plus facilement visibles et consultables, et donc plus cités, par les autres chercheurs

⇒ Mais aussi, vos travaux sont archivés sur le long terme grâce à des URLs pérennes   Voir Safe PLN pour DIAL.pr !)


L'Open Access Expliqué !                                     → Plus de vidéos sur la page Université Numérique - Open Publication  !