User menu

S'identifier sur le proxy UCLouvain :

https://proxy.bib.ucl.ac.be/proxy-dial

S'identifier sur le proxy Saint-Louis :

https://usaintlouis.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://dial.uclouvain.be

Choose a journal

This page gathers some steps and elements to consider when choosing a journal, taken from the book available in Open Access: How and Where to publish? Publishing addiction science, a Guide for the Perplexed (third edition, Ubiquity Press, 2017).

 

Target audience

Language of publication

Multidisciplinary, disciplinary or specialized journals

Published content

Quality and integrity of the journal

Visibility of content

Acceptance rate

Publication deadlines

Impact Factor

 

 

enlightened​   Is your article primarily of interest to a national or an international audience? 

You will find information about the reach and audience of a journal by visiting its website. 

 

enlightened   Consider the language of publication

If you are targeting an international audience, it is wise to turn to a journal that publishes in English.  

If you write your article in your native language, or in the language of the country where your study was conducted, it is sometimes possible to publish it a second time in English. This requires prior authorization from the publishers concerned.

However, publishing in the national language has advantages: it allows the use of the language and terminology to be maintained in the scientific field concerned, and serves as a means of communication between scientists, professionals and regional and national political leaders.

 

enlightened   Consider whether to publish in a generic, disciplinary, or specialized  journal

Some journals are intended for the general scientific community (e.g. Nature). Other journals publish articles that focus on a particular discipline (e.g. Results in Physics), and others that focus on a specific topic (e.g. Neurovascular Imaging).

Be aware that it may be necessary to adapt the language used if you wish to publish in a journal for a wider scientific audience, and to write your article in a way that is understandable to those who do not have a thorough knowledge of your research field and its dialect. 

 

enlightened   Review the journal's content range 

Review several issues and visit the journal's home page. Select journals that have already shown an interest in your article topic.

If in doubt, do not hesitate to contact the editor of the journal you are interested in, and ask more experienced colleagues: you might get valuable insights into the editorial preferences and priorities of some journals.

 

enlightened   Evaluate the journal's quality and integrity   

The most important criterion for ensuring the quality of the journal is the peer-review process, under the supervision of the journal's editor and editorial board.

In recent years, there has been a proliferation of online journals without peer-review processes and without proper quality control, which divert the author-payer model from Open Access journals for the unique purpose of making a profit. You'll find more information to recognize and avoid these predatory journals here.

 

enlightened   Gauge your article's potential exposure by reviewing the journal’s indexing and abstracting services, as well as its open-access policy

The ability of a journal to reach the intended audience for its articles is determined by its dissemination capabilities.

Be careful that the journal is well indexed by databases that collect metadata of scientific publications from publishers (author, title, subject, reference, etc.), and that provide detailed information on the content of these articles (including the abstract of the article). These databases are search engines such as Google Scholar, Scopus, Web of Science, DOAJ (for Open Access journals), Medline, etc.

The number of visits to the journal's website and the number of downloads are indicators of journal attendance. In addition, some journals have altmetrics (Article Level Metrics) that tell you the immediate impact of published articles. The Altmetrics donut, or the Dimension badge are examples of these metrics (which are available for your publications on your institutional repository, DIAL.pr laugh).

Consider the journal's Open Access policy. Scientific publications available in Open Access are more consulted and downloaded than articles published in traditional journals available via a paid subscription. Access to these journals represents a barrier for academic and scientific members of institutions that have not subscribed, for professionals, and for researchers from developing countries. You will find more information on the effect of Open Access on the visibility of scientific publications here and here.   

 

enlightened     Evaluate your chances of acceptance 

Some journals display their submission acceptance rate, which you can use as an indicator. Note, however, that some journals have a high acceptance rate because they commission researchers to write articles on a given topic.

Beyond the acceptance rate of a journal, your chances of acceptance depend on many other scientific, stylistic (editorial quality, way of presenting the data) or administrative considerations (the length of the article, the number of revisions required, the adequacy of the subject of the article with the journal's mission).

 

enlightened   Take into account time to publication and other practical matters

Some journals take longer than others to process articles submitted and make a decision. Publication deadlines after acceptance of the revised articles also vary.

In general, journals that publish more frequently are likely to have a shorter lag time to publication. The best way to obtain information about the editorial process is to consult the instructions to authors or the journal's website.

 

enlightened   Consider, but don't be fooled by, impact factors

The Journal Impact Factor is an attempt to provide an objective measure of how often a scientific journal’s published work is cited. The impact of a journal on a field is based on the assumption that the more articles in a journal are cited, the more influence it has on that field.

A journal's FI is the average number of citations received per article published in that journal over the previous two years. The impact factor is widely used to compare journals in a particular field.  

But be aware that publishing in a journal with a high FI does not guarantee that your article receives more citations than in a journal with a lower FI, or without a FI.

In fact, the majority of articles published in a journal with a high FI received few or no citations. Only a small number of articles were strongly cited (e.g. Not-so-deep impact, Nature, vol. 435, No. 7045, 2005) and contributed to an increase in the IF of the journal in question.

Moreover, citations do not necessarily indicate the quality of an article. There are many reasons (in addition to its quality) for quoting a scientific publication: polemical reasons, because the theme of the article is "fashionable", to promote their own research (or that of their friends, colleagues or patrons), or even because the article in question is an example of bad scientific research.

The FI should be a secondary criterion in the choice of a journal, behind the quality of the peer-review process, the speed of editorial processing, and the presence of summary and indexing services.

Especially since there are many criticisms of the Impact Factor: the database used for the FI only covers a part of the scientific journals - a large part of the journals in the world do not receive FIs -, different research fields have different coverage in the database, there is a marked preference for English language journals and national or regional journals are poorly represented,...

In addition, FI is often misused. Here is a table that shows what it is reasonable to do with the Impact Factor, and how it should not be used.

Resources :

https://arxiv.org/ftp/arxiv/papers/1801/1801.08992.pdf

http://www.sciencemag.org/news/2016/07/hate-journal-impact-factors-new-study-gives-you-one-more-reason

https://www.editage.com/insights/why-you-should-not-use-the-journal-impact-factor-to-evaluate-research

Menu utilisateur

Accès à distance ? S'identifier sur le proxy UCLouvain | Saint-Louis

Choisir une revue : quelques critères

Onglets principaux

Cette page rassemble quelques étapes et éléments à considérer pour vous guider dans le choix d'une revue, tirés du livre disponible en      :  How and Where to publish ? Publishing addiction science, a Guide for the Perplexed (third edition, Ubiquity Press, 2017).

 

Audience visée

Langue de publication

Revues multidisciplinaires, disciplinaires ou spécialisées

Contenu publié

Qualité et intégrité de la revue

Visibilité du contenu

Taux d’acceptation

Délais de publication

Impact Factor

 

 

enlightened​   Votre article s’adresse-t-il davantage à une audience nationale ou internationale ?

Vous trouverez des informations sur la portée et l’audience d’une revue en visitant son site web. 

 

enlightened   Dans quelle langue allez-vous publier ?

Si vous visez une audience internationale, il est judicieux de vous tourner vers une revue qui publie en anglais.  

Si vous rédigez votre article dans votre langue maternelle, ou dans la langue du pays où a été menée votre étude, il est parfois possible de le publier une seconde fois en anglais. Cela nécessite une autorisation préalable des éditeurs concernés.

Publier dans sa langue nationale a toutefois des avantages: permettre le maintien de l’utilisation de la langue et de la terminologie dans le champ scientifique concerné, et servir de support de communication entre les scientifiques, les professionnels et les responsables politiques régionaux et nationaux.

 

enlightened   Souhaitez-vous publier dans une revue multidisciplinaire, disciplinaire, ou spécialisée dans le sujet de votre article ?

Certaines revues sont destinés à la communauté scientifique générale (ex. Nature). D’autres revues publient des articles qui concernent une discipline particulière (ex. Results in Physics), et d’autres encore qui concernent un sujet spécifique (ex. Neurovascular Imaging).

Soyez conscients qu’il pourra être nécessaire d’adapter le langage utilisé si vous souhaitez publier dans une revue à destination d’une audience scientifique plus large, et de rédiger votre article d’une manière qui soit compréhensible pour ceux qui n’ont pas une connaissance approfondie de votre domaine de recherche et de son dialecte. 

 

enlightened   Examinez le type de contenu proposé par la revue

Examinez plusieurs numéros et visitez la page d’accueil de la revue. Sélectionnez les revues qui ont déjà montré un intérêt pour le sujet de votre étude.

En cas de doute, n’hésitez pas à vous adresser au rédacteur en chef de la revue qui vous intéresse, et à questionner vos collègues plus expérimentés : vous pourriez obtenir de précieuses indications sur les préférences et priorités éditoriales de certaines revues.

 

enlightened   Jaugez la qualité et l’intégrité de la revue 

Le critère le plus important pour s’assurer de la qualité de la revue est le processus de peer-review, ou évaluation par les pairs, sous la supervision du rédacteur en chef et du comité de rédaction de la revue.

Depuis quelques années, on constate la prolifération de revues online sans processus de peer-review et sans contrôle qualité correct, qui détournent le modèle auteur-payeur des revues Open Access dans l’unique but de faire du profit. Vous trouvez plus d’informations pour reconnaitre et éviter ces revues prédatrices ici.

 

enlightened   Évaluez la visibilité des articles publiés dans la revue que vous visez

La capacité d’une revue à atteindre l’audience visée par les articles qu’elle publie est déterminée par ses capacités de dissémination.

Soyez attentifs à ce que la revue soit bien indexée par les bases de données qui récoltent les métadonnées des publications scientifiques auprès des éditeurs (auteur, titre, sujet, référence, etc.), et qui fournissent des informations détaillées sur le contenu de ces articles (notamment, le résumé de l’article). Ces bases de données sont des moteurs de recherche tels que Google Scholar, Scopus, Web of Science, DOAJ (pour les revues Open Access), Medline, etc.

Le nombre de visites sur le site web de la revue et le nombre de téléchargements sont des indicateurs de la fréquentation de la revue. De plus, certains périodiques disposent de métriques par article – les altmetrics (Article Level Metrics) - vous indiquant l’impact immédiat des articles publiés. Le donut Altmetrics, ou encore le badge Dimension sont des exemple de ces métriques (qui sont d’ailleurs disponibles pour vos publications sur votre dépôt institutionnel, DIAL.pr laugh ).

Prenez en considération la politique d’Open Access de la revue. Les publications scientifiques disponibles en Open Access sont plus consultées et plus téléchargées que les articles publiés dans des revues traditionnelles disponibles via un abonnement payant. L’accès à ces revues représente un frein pour les membres académiques et scientifiques des institutions qui n’ont pas souscrit l’abonnement, pour les professionnels, et pour les chercheurs des pays en voie de développement. Vous trouverez plus d’information sur l’effet de l’Open Access sur la visibilité des publications scientifiques ici et ici.   

 

enlightened     Évaluez les chances d’acceptation de votre article

Certaines revues affichent leur taux d’acceptation des soumissions, qui peut vous servir d’indicateur. Notez tout de même que certaines revues ont un taux d’acceptation élevé parce qu’elles mandatent des chercheurs pour rédiger des articles sur un sujet donné.

Au-delà du taux d’acceptation d’une revue, vos chances d’acceptation dépendent de nombreuses autres considérations d’ordre scientifique, stylistique (qualité rédactionnelle, manière de présenter les données) ou administratives (la longueur de l’article, le nombre de révisions requises, l’adéquation du sujet de l’article avec la mission de la revue).

 

enlightened   Tenez compte du temps nécessaire à la publication

Certaines revues prennent plus de temps que d’autres pour traiter les articles soumis et prendre une décision. Les délais de publication après acceptation de l’article révisé varient aussi.

En général, les revues qui publient plus fréquemment sont susceptibles d'avoir un délai de publication plus court. Le meilleur moyen d'obtenir de l'information sur le processus éditorial est de consulter les instructions aux auteurs ou le site Web de la revue.

 

enlightened   Prêtez attention, mais ne vous laissez pas berner, par l’Impact Factor (IF)

L’impact Factor est une tentative de fournir une mesure objective de la fréquence à laquelle les travaux publiés par revue scientifique sont cités. L'impact d'une revue sur un domaine d'étude est basé sur l'hypothèse que plus les articles d'une revue sont cités, plus elle a d'influence sur ce domaine.

L’IF d'une revue est le nombre moyen de citations reçues par article publié dans cette revue au cours des deux années précédentes. Le facteur d'impact est largement utilisé pour comparer les revues dans un domaine particulier.  

Mais soyez conscient que publier dans une revue avec un IF élevé ne garantit pas que votre article reçoive plus de citations que dans une revue avec un IF plus faible ou sans IF.

En réalité, la majorité des articles publiés dans une revue avec un IF élevé ont reçu peu de citations, ou aucune. Seul un petit nombre d’articles a été fortement cité (exemple :  Not-so-deep impact, Nature, vol. 435, n°7045, 2005) et a contribué à faire augmenter l’IF de la revue en question.

De plus une citation n'est pas nécessairement une indication de la qualité de la recherche. De nombreuses raisons (outre sa qualité) peuvent pousser à citer une publication scientifique : des raisons polémiques, parce que la thématique de l’article est « à la mode », pour promouvoir leur propre recherche (ou celle de leurs amis, collègues ou mécènes), voire parce que l’article en question est un exemple de mauvaise recherche scientifique.

L’IF devrait être un critère secondaire de choix d’une revue, derrière la qualité du processus de peer-review, la rapidité du traitement éditorial, et la présence de services de résumé et d’indexation.

D’autant plus que les critiques à l’égard de l’Impact Factor sont nombreuses :  la banque de données utilisée pour l’IF ne couvre qu’une partie des revues scientifiques- une grande partie des revues dans le monde ne reçoivent pas d’IF-, différents domaines de recherche ont une couverture différente dans la base de données, on constate une préférence marquée pour les revues de langue anglaise et les revues nationales ou régionales sont mal représentées, …

En outre, l’IF est souvent mal utilisé. Voici un tableau qui présente ce qu’il est raisonnable de faire avec l’Impact Factor, et ce pourquoi il ne devrait pas être utilisé.

Ressources :

https://arxiv.org/ftp/arxiv/papers/1801/1801.08992.pdf

http://www.sciencemag.org/news/2016/07/hate-journal-impact-factors-new-study-gives-you-one-more-reason

https://www.editage.com/insights/why-you-should-not-use-the-journal-impact-factor-to-evaluate-research