User menu

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions about DIAL.pr

Below are answers to some frequently asked questions (FAQ) about institutional repositories, open access, copyright and DIAL.pr project, ...

General questions: 

What is an institutional repository? 

What is DIAL.pr? 

As a researcher, which advantages may I remove from an institutionnal repository? 

Who has access to DIAL.pr? How to log me in? 

As a user, what are my rights and my obligations concerning the publications deposited into DIAL.pr? 

What is the policy concerning the deposit into DIAL.Pr? 

How can I keep up with news and evolution about DIAL.pr? 

Can I access a document marked with a closed padlock? How to make a request for a reprint? 

Where can I find help for encoding and bibliographic export in DIAL.pr? 

Who can I contact in case of difficulties? 

 

Open Access: 

What is Open Access? 

As an author, which are my advantages to publish in Open Access? 

Am I obliged to deposit my publications in Open Access into DIAL.pr? 

How do I know if I have the right to deposit my publication in Open Access in DIAL.pr? 

How can I ensure that my publications are in Open Access? 


General questions

What is an institutional repository?

It is a platform, a tool to collect in electronic format the publication and the scientific works of the professors and the researchers of an institution and to make them, possibly, freely accessible on the Internet to increase the visibility by itself.

 

What is DIAL.pr?

It is the institutional repository for research and scholarship - including published and unpublished papers - produced at the Université catholique de Louvain, All faculties, staff, and graduate students can deposit into DIAL.pr. It allows the long-term preservation and the consultation, in electronic version, of scientific publications.

 

As a researcher, which advantages may I remove from an institutional repository?

An institutional repository allows:

  • to create an exhaustive and perennial archive of the scientific publications of an institution;
  • to guarantee the access by the university community to the publications of her researchers;
  • to increase the visibility of the university and her researchers worldwide;
  • to facilitate the access to the scientific information.

With DIAL.pr, you have the opportunity to store all your publications and other research documents such as reports, working documents, patents, etc. in a permanent and centralized way. DIAL.pr provides them with visibility and permanent access.

DIAL.pr also allows you to generate customized bibliographic exports, as well as FNRS bibliographic exports. The bibliographic lists generated by DIAL.pr can be used to allocate research credits, appointments, promotions, etc. 

Several value-added features are available on DIAL.pr: bibliometric indices for your publications, statistics for viewing and downloading your publications, general deposit statistics, etc. 

Finally, DIAL.pr is also a search interface allowing you to easily find the scientific work of your colleagues. 

 

Who has access to DIAL.pr? How to log me in?

The access to information and services of the repository requires no registration and is accessible to everyone. But the reference addition and modification and the deposit are only accessible to the universities’ members or people authorized by it.

To connect you to the repository, introduce your global UCLouvain identifier, and your password into the insert provided for this purpose on the homepage or clicking on « Log in ».

 

As a user, what are my rights and my obligations concerning the publications deposited into DIAL.pr?

DIAL.pr allows authors to grant or deny access to deposited documents. Three types of access exist:

  • prohibited access
  • restricted access, which allows the document to be viewed and downloaded only if you are connected to the UCLouvain network. However, it is possible to request a "reprint" when not connected to the UCLouvain network (special access request sent by email to the authors of the publication). 
  • open access, which allows everyone to access the document

To have access to the full text of publications deposited in Open Access in DIAL, the users acquaint with conditions of use and accept them. They are visible before any viewing the document.

When these conditions are accepted, they are allowed to read, download, copy, transmit, and reproduce the work on paper or any other support, and it only for private purposes, of illustration of the teaching or the scientific research. Any use for profit or commercial purposes is strictly prohibited.

The user also commits the moral rights of the author, mainly the right to the integrity of the work and the attribution (copyright). So, the user cannot modify, transform or adapt the work without the explicit permission of the author. When he will reproduce the document by extract or in full for the purposes authorized by this license, the user will quote the sources such as mentioned in DIAL.

It should be noted that Open Access publications are sometimes associated with specific licenses, such as Creative Commons licenses, which allow users to use these publications within the limits authorized by these licenses without having to request the author's express authorization. When a publication has such a license, it is usually indicated in the PDF of that publication and/or on the website of the journal in which it was published. 

 

What is the policy concerning the deposit into DIAL.pr ?

On 2nd July 2012, the Academic Council of the UCLouvain decided to make mandatory the recording of the bibliographical data and the deposit of full text from 1st January 2013. The deposit of full text concerns only the publications produced from 2013. It behoves to sectors to eventually extend the obligation to deposit, full text in other years. The access type to the full text of these publications will be open only in accordance with the applicable rules of copyright and publisher’s rights.

All the types of documents listed in DIAL and for which you can arrange or realize yourself (by scan) an electronic version are concerned by the mandatory deposit.

 

How can I keep up with news and the evolution about DIAL.pr?

DIAL offers you various possibilities to stay informed:

  • News about DIAL.pr, Open Access, publishers… on the homepage of the site but also to Twitter.
  • Display of the last deposits on the homepage.

 

Can I access a document marked with a closed padlock? How to make a request for a reprint?

Documents placed on restricted access can be the object of request for reprint. An email is sent to authors who have the possibility to accept or refuse the sending. However, the document placed on access prohibited cannot be the subject of a request for reprint.

 

Where can I find help for encoding and bibliographic export in DIAL.pr? 

User guides are available on this page

Training sessions on the use of DIAL are also organized throughout the year for researchers, doctoral students, professors and administrative staff. The list of past and future training courses is available on this page

 

Who can I contact in case of difficulties? 

In the contact tab, a ticket system allows you to send a message to DIAL managers. 

Do not hesitate to contact your librarians either.  

 

 

Open Access

 

What is Open Access?

By free access to scientific publications, UCLouvain aligns itself with the definitions of the Open Knowledge Fundation (OpenDefinition, 2017) and the Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI, 2003) and means: 

 Their free availability on the Internet allowing any user to 

  • read
  • download
  • copy
  • print out
  • share out
  • modify 

With the need for the user to acknowledge and cite the author and to indicate the source of the original work on any reproduction or modification of this work. 

 

As an author, which are my advantages to publish in Open Access?

The main advantages of Open Access concern the visibility and impact of the publication. Open Access allows a better diffusion of results through the scientific community. Free available articles on the Internet are more consulted than publications or journals with paid access. Normally, if the number of consultations is important, the article will more be quoted and it will more have an impact. About that, you can consult this page and this report

Below is a summary of the many advantages of Open Access: 

For more information on Open Access, also see the "Université Numérique" page. 

 

Am I obliged to deposit my publications in Open Access into DIAL.pr ?

  1. UCLouvain researchers financed totally or partially from public funds (including FNRS scholars and researchers) must, according to the decree of the French community of May 3, 2018, put their articles in open access on an institutional repository, in this case for UCLouvain : Dial.
  2. This applies to publications in a periodical published at least once a year. For other publications (monographs, conference proceedings, theses, etc.), Open Access remains at the author's discretion, although it is strongly encouraged by UCLouvain.
  3. An embargo period remains possible: 12 months for the human and social sciences, 6 months for the other sciences.
  4. The version to be uploaded to Dial is the Post-print version: i.e. the version after peer-review, but before the publisher's layout.
  5. Important point: any promotion, appointment, allocation of research credit by the FWB may only be based on the list generated by Dial for the evaluation of periodical articles covered by the decree.
  6. This Community decree is reinforced by a recent intervention by the Belgian legislator in July 2018, which establishes a real right of Open Access for scientific publications financed by public funds for the benefit of the authors of these publications. The text also provides for the possibility of embargo periods similar to those of the decree (6 or 12 months depending on the sector). This legal right prevails over any contract concluded with a publisher that prohibits or restricts the right to open access beyond the legal conditions.

How do I know if I have the right to deposit my publication in Open Access in DIAL.pr?

enlightenedIf your publication has been publicly funded, and is published in a periodical that appears at least once a year, open access deposit on DIAL.pr is now required (See previous section) enlightened

- By consulting SHERPA/RoMEO: This is a database that gathers information on the conditions for depositing publications for each publisher and/or inventoried title.  The open access filing rights of some publishers vary depending on the publication status of the documents (pre-print, post-print and published version). SHERPA/RoMEO also mentions any embargo periods to be respected (during which the publication cannot be available in Open Access).

- By visiting the website of the journal in which you published: Policies regarding Open Access and repository in institutional archives are generally included on the journal's or publisher's website.



- By consulting the Directory of Open Access Journal (DOAJ), which lists all scientific journals that meet Open Access and quality criteria (a publication evaluation model is required). To date, the DOAJ contains 12188 journals. The journal in which you published may be included. 



- By asking the publisher: If the journal or publisher of your publication is not listed in DOAJ or SHERPA/RoMEO, and you cannot find the information on the journal's website, you may consider contacting your publisher directly to find out about their Open Access depositing conditions. 

 

How can I ensure that my publications are in Open Access?

There are two main publication and dissemination models for open access:

  • You can publish directly in an Open Access journal, this is called the "gold open access".
  • You can publish in a traditional journal and deposit a version of the full text of your publication in DIAL.pr, your institutional repository, and possibly in thematic repositories. This is called the "green open access".  
Here are the elements to consider for each of these two models: 
 
Green open access  
Advantages
  • allows you to publish in the traditional journal of your choice
  • free of charge
To be considered
  • does not always allow the final version of the publication to be deposited
  • does not always allow the publication to be deposited immediately after publication (possible embargo)
  • contributes to maintaining the hegemony of traditional publishers in scientific publishing
Gold open access  
Advantages
  • publication is available free of charge in Open Access immediately after publication
  • more possibilities for the author to retain copyright
  • promotes the development of alternative publication models
To be considered
  •  sometimes exorbitant costs charged to authors or their institutions (APC, Article Processing Charges). Please note, however, that many Open Access journals do not charge publication fees, and are completely free of charge. 
  • Beware of the "hybrid journals" offered by traditional publishers, a scam by traditional publishers to double their sources of income (traditional journals that offer researchers to publish their articles in Open Access for a fee... while their institutions already pay annual subscriptions to access the content of these journals! (see here and here)

Menu utilisateur

FAQ

Foire Aux Questions de DIAL.pr

Vous trouverez ci-dessous les réponses à quelques questions fréquemment posées (FAQ) sur les dépôts institutionnels, le libre accès, les droits d'auteur et le projet DIAL. pr.

Questions générales:

 

Open Access questions:


Questions générales

Qu'est-ce qu'un dépôt institutionnel?

C'est une plateforme, un outil pour collecter sous format électronique la production scientifique des professeurs et des chercheurs d'une institution et la rendre, dans la mesure du possible, accessible gratuitement sur Internet pour augmenter sa visibilité.

C'est le dépôt institutionnel pour la recherche et le savoir - y compris les articles publiés et non publiés - produit à l'Université catholique de Louvain. Toutes les facultés, le personnel et les étudiants diplômés peuvent déposer dans DIAL. pr. Il permet la conservation à long terme et la consultation, en version électronique, des publications scientifiques.

En tant que chercheur, quels avantages puis-je retirer d'un dépôt institutionnel?

Un dépôt institutionnel permet:

  • de créer une archive exhaustive et pérenne des publications scientifiques d'une institution;
  • de garantir l'accès de la communauté universitaire aux publications de ses chercheurs;
  • d'accroître la visibilité de l'université et de ses chercheurs dans le monde entier;
  • de faciliter l'accès à l'information scientifique

 

Avec DIAL.pr, vous avez l'opportunité de conserver de manière pérenne et centralisée l'ensemble de vos publications et autres documents de recherche tels que des rapports, des documents de travail, des brevets, etc. DIAL.pr leur assure une visibilité et un accès permanent.

DIAL.pr vous permet également de générer des exports bibliographiques personnalisées, ainsi que des exports bibliographiques FNRS. Les listes bibliographiques générées par DIAL.pr peuvent être utilisées dans le cadre d'attributions de crédits de recherche, de nominations, de promotions, ...

Plusieurs fonctionnalités à valeur ajoutée sont disponibles sur DIAL.pr : indices bibliométriques pour vos publications, statistiques de visualisation et de téléchargement de vos publications, vos statisitques générales de dépôt, ...

Enfin, DIAL.pr est aussi une interface de recherche vous permettant de trouver facilement les travaux scientifiques de vos collègues.

Qui a accès à DIAL. pr? Comment me connecter?

L'accès à l'information et aux services du dépôt ne nécessite aucune inscription et est accessible à tous. Mais l'ajout et la modification de référence et le dépôt de documents ne sont accessibles qu'aux membres des universités.

Pour vous connecter au répertoire, introduisez votre identifiant UCLouvain global et votre mot de passe dans la plage prévu à cet effet sur la page d'accueil ou cliquez sur "Connexion".

En tant qu'utilisateur, quels sont mes droits et obligations concernant les publications déposées dans DIAL. pr? Que puis-je faire des documents?

DIAL.pr permet aux auteurs d'accorder ou non le droit d'accès aux documents déposés. Trois types d'accès existent:

  • l'accès interdit
  • l'acccès restreint, qui permet la visualisation et le téléchargement du document uniquement si l'on est connecté au réseau UCLouvain. Il est toutefois possible de demander un "tiré-à-part" lorsque l'on est pas connecté au réseau UCLouvain (demande d'accès particulière envoyée par email aux auteurs de la publication).
  • l'accès libre qui permet à tous d'accéder au document

 

Pour avoir accès au texte intégral des publications déposées en Open Access ou en accès restreint dans DIAL.pr, les utilisateurs prennent connaissance des conditions d'utilisation et les acceptent. Ils sont visibles avant toute consultation du document.

Lorsque ces conditions sont acceptées, ils sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, transmettre et reproduire l'œuvre sur papier ou tout autre support, et ce uniquement à des fins privées, d'illustration pour l'enseignement ou de la recherche scientifique. Toute utilisation à des fins lucratives ou commerciales est strictement interdite.

L'utilisateur s'engage également à respecter les droits moraux de l'auteur, principalement le droit à l'intégrité de l'œuvre et l'attribution (droit d'auteur). L'utilisateur ne peut donc pas modifier, transformer ou adapter l'œuvre sans l'autorisation expresse de l'auteur. Lorsqu'il reproduira le document par extrait ou dans son intégralité aux fins autorisées par cette licence, l'utilisateur citera les sources telles que mentionnées dans DIAL.

Notons que les publications en Open Access sont parfois associées à des licences particulières, telles que les licences Creative Commons, qui permettent aux utilisateurs de faire usage de ces publications dans les limites autorisées par ces licences sans avoir à demander l'autorisation expresse de l'auteur. Lorsqu'une publication dispose d'une licence de ce type, elle est généralement indiquée dans le PDF de cette publication et/ou sur le site web de la revue dans laquelle elle a été publiée.

Quelle est la politique concernant le dépôt dans DIAL. pr?

Le 2 juillet 2012, le Conseil Académique de l'UCLouvain a décidé de rendre obligatoire l'enregistrement des données bibliographiques et le dépôt du texte intégral à partir du 1er janvier 2013. Le dépôt du texte intégral ne concerne que les publications produites à partir de 2013. Il incombe aux secteurs d'étendre à terme l'obligation de dépôt du texte intégral aux années antérieures. Le texte intégral de ces publications ne sera disponible en accès libre (open access) qu'en conformité avec les règles applicables du droit d'auteur et des droits de l'éditeur.

Tous les types de documents répertoriés dans DIAL et pour lesquels vous pouvez organiser ou réaliser vous-même (par scan) une version électronique sont concernés par le dépôt obligatoire.

Comment suivre l'actualité et l'évolution du dépôt dans DIAL. pr?

DIAL offers you various possibilities to stay informed:

  • News à propos de DIAL. pr, de l'Open Access, des éditeurs... sur la page d'accueil du site mais aussi via Twitter.

 

Puis-je quand même accéder à un document marqué d'un cadenas fermé? Comment faire une demande d'accès particulier ?

Les documents placés en accès restreint peuvent faire l'objet d'une demande d'accès. Un email est envoyé aux auteurs qui ont la possibilité d'accepter ou de refuser l'envoi. Toutefois, le document dont l'accès est interdit ne peut faire l'objet d'une demande d'accès particulier.

Où puis-je trouver de l’aide concernant l’encodage et l’export bibliographique dans DIAL.pr ?

Des guides utilisateurs sont disponibles sur cette page.

Des séances de formation à l’utilisation de DIAL.pr sont également organisées tout au long de l’année, à destination des chercheurs, doctorants, professeurs, ainsi que du personnel administratif. La liste des formations passées et à venir est disponible sur cette page.

Qui puis-je contacter en cas de difficultés ?

Via le lien contact, un système de ticket vous permet d’envoyer un message aux gestionnaires DIAL.

N’hésitez pas non plus à vous adresser à vos bibliothécaires.


Open Access

Qu'est-ce que l'Open Access ?

Par libre accès aux publications scientifiques, l'UCLouvain s'aligne sur les définitions de l'Open Knowledge Fundation (OpenDefinition, 2017) et de la Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI, 2003) et entend:

Leur mise a disposition gratuite sur Internet permettant à tout utilisateur de

  • lire
  • télécharger
  • copier
  • imprimer
  • partager
  • modifier

 

Avec la nécessité pour l'utilisateur de reconnaître et citer l'auteur ainsi que d'indiquer la source de l'oeuvre originiale sur toute reproduction ou modification de cette oeuvre.

En tant qu'auteur, quels sont mes avantages à publier en Open Access?

Les principaux avantages du libre accès concernent la visibilité et l'impact de la publication. Le libre accès permet une meilleure diffusion des résultats à travers la communauté scientifique. Les articles gratuits disponibles sur Internet sont plus consultés que les publications ou les revues à accès payant. En générale, si le nombre de consultations est important, l'article sera davantage cité et aura plus d'impact. A ce sujet, vous pouvez consulter cette page et cerapport.

Ci-dessous, un schéma récapitulatif des nombreux avantages de l'Open Access:

Pour plus d'informations sur l'Open Access, consulter également la page de l'Université numérique.

Pourquoi un décret Open Access ?

L’objectif du législateur est de favoriser la libre circulation du savoir et donc l’innovation, pour que toute personne, quels que soient ses moyens, puisse accéder aux résultats de la recherche. Il vise aussi à améliorer la visibilité des chercheurs de la communauté française, et de leurs travaux.

Dois-je placer toutes mes publications scientifiques en Open Access ?

Les publications concernées par le décret sont les articles scientifiques acceptés dans des revues paraissant au moins une fois par an. Cela ne vaut que pour les articles acceptés pour publication depuis septembre 2018.



Pour les autres publications (monographies, posters, thèses) ou les articles antérieurs à septembre 2018, c’est à la discrétion de l’auteur, bien que l’UCLouvain l’encourage vivement.

Quel est mon intérêt en tant que chercheur ?

Le respect du décret Open Access est crucial pour les chercheurs. En effet, tout comité ou commission chargée d’évaluer les dossiers de nomination, promotion, ou d'attribution de crédits de recherche se basera uniquement sur la liste générée par Dial selon les conditions du décret (voir l’export “certified FWB bibliography” sur dial.pr). Les publications soumises au décret qui ne seront pas mises en Open Access ne seront donc pas prise en compte pour ces évaluations. Les chercheurs ont donc tout intérêt à y mettre un maximum de publications.

Que faire si mon contrat avec l’éditeur prévoit un embargo supérieur à 6/12 mois ?

Le décret impose le respect d’un embargo maximum de 6 mois (SST et SSS) et 12 mois (SSH), quel que soit le contrat conclu avec l’éditeur.

Où dois-je déposer ma publication ?

Seulement sur un dépôt institutionnel : c’est-à-dire Dial à l’UCLouvain.

Quelle version de mon article dois-je déposer ?

C’est le post-print qui doit être déposé (sauf si votre éditeur vous autorise à déposer la version éditée). Un post-print est une publication après correction des reviewers, mais avant mise en page de l’éditeur.

Suis-je obligé de déposer mes publications en Open Access dans DIAL. pr?

  1. Les chercheurs de l’UCLouvain financés totalement ou partiellement sur fonds publics (en ce y compris sur les boursiers et chercheurs du FNRS) doivent, selon le décret de la communauté française du 3 mai 2018, mettre leurs articles en libre accès sur un dépôt institutionnel, en l’occurrence pour l’UCLouvain : Dial.​
  2. Cela concerne les publications dans un périodique paraissant au moins une fois par an. Pour les autres publications (monographie, actes de colloques, thèses, …), la mise en Open Access reste à la discrétion de l’auteur bien qu’elle soit vivement encouragée par l’UCLouvain.
  3. Une période d’embargo reste possible : 12 mois pour les sciences humaines et sociales, 6 mois pour les autres sciences.
  4. La version à déposer sur Dial est le Post-print : c’est-à-dire la version après peer-review, mais avant mise en page de l’éditeur.
  5. Point important : toute promotion, nomination, attribution de crédit de recherche de la FWB ne pourra se baser pour l’évaluation des articles de périodique visés par le décret que sur la liste générée par Dial.
  6. Ce décret communautaire est renforcé par une intervention récente du législateur belge en juillet 2018 et qui institue un véritable droit à la mise en Open Access des publications scientifiques financées par des fonds publics au bénéfice des auteurs desdites publications. Le texte prévoit également des possibilités de délais d’embargo calqués sur ceux du décret (6 ou 12 mois selon le secteur). Ce droit légal prévaut sur tout contrat qui serait passé avec un éditeur et qui interdirait ou restreindrait au-delà des conditions légales le droit de mise en Open Access.

Comment savoir si j'ai le droit de déposer ma publication en libre accès dans DIAL.pr ?

enlightenedrequis (Voir section précédente) enlightened

- En consultant SHERPA/RoMEO : Il s'agit d'une base de donnée qui regroupe les infromations sur les conditions de dépôt des publications pour chaque éditeur et/ou titre inventorié. Les droits de dépôt en libre accès de certains éditeurs varient selon le statut de publication des documents (pré-print, post-print et version publiée). SHERPA/RoMEO mentionne également les éventuelles périodes d'embargo à respecter (durant laquelle la publication ne peut être disponible en Open Access).

- En visitant le site web de la revue dans laquelle vous avez publié: Les politiques en matière d'Open Access et de dépôt dans les archives institutionnelles sont généralement reprises sur le site web de la revue ou de l'éditeur.

- En consultant le Directory of Open Access Journal, qui dresse la liste de toutes les revues scientifiques qui répondent aux critères d'Open Access et de qualité (un modèle d'évaluation des publications est requis). À ce jour, le DOAJ contient 12188 revues. La revue dans laquelle vous avez publié peut y figurer.

- En questionnant l'éditeur: Si la revue ou l'éditeur de votre publication n'est pas répertorié dans DOAJ ou dans SHERPA/RoMEO, et que vous ne trouvez pas l'information sur le site web de la revue, vous pouvez envisager de vous adresser directement à votre éditeur pour connaître ses conditions de dépôt Open Access.

Comment puis-je faire pour m'assurer que mes publications soient en Open Access?

Il existe deux principaux modèles de publications et de diffusion pour le libre accès:

  • Vous pouvez publier directement dans une revue Open Access, c'est ce que l'on appelle la "voie dorée".
  • Vous pouvez publier dans une revue traditionnelle et déposer une version du texte intégral de votre publication dans DIAL.pr, votre dépot institutionnel, et éventuellement dans des dépôts thématiques. C'est ce que l'on appelle la "voie verte".

Voici les éléments à considérer pour chacun de ces deux modèles:

 

Voie verte 
Avantages
  • vous permet de publier dans la revue traditionnelle de votre choix
  • gratuit
A considérer 
  • ne permet pas toujours de déposer la version finale de la publication 
  • ne permet pas toujours de déposer la publication immédiatement après publication (embargo possible)
  • contribue à maintenir l'hégémonie des éditeurs traditionnels en matière de publication scientifique
voie dorée
Avantages
  • la publication est diponible gratuitement en Open Access immédiatement après publication
  • davantage de possibilités pour l'auteur de conserver les droits d'auteurs
  • favorise le développement de modèles de publications alternatifs
A considérer 
  • coûts parfois exorbitants demandés aux auteurs ou à leurs institutions (APC, Article Processing Charges). Attention cependant, de nombreuses revues Open Access ne demandent pas de frais de publications, et sont totalement gratuites. 
  • attention aux "revues hybrides" proposées par les éditeurs traditionnels, une arnaque des éditeurs traditionnels destinée à doubler leurs sources de revenus (revues traditionnelles qui proposent aux chercheurs de publier leurs articles en Open Access moyennent le paiement de frais de publications ... alors que leurs institutions paient déjà des abonnements annuels pour accéder au contenu de ces revues!) (voir ici et ici)